William Byrnes' Tax, Wealth, and Risk Intelligence

William Byrnes (Texas A&M) tax & compliance articles

EU Finance Minister Blacklists 17 Jurisdictions

Posted by fhalestewart on December 7, 2017

From the Financial Times

European finance ministers have blacklisted 17 countries in a key part of the bloc’s crackdown on aggressive tax avoidance, while 47 other nations promised reforms to avoid being labelled tax havens.

American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, South Korea, Macau, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Namibia, Palau, Panama, St Lucia, Samoa, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia and United Arab Emirates were all listed as so-called non-compliant jurisdictions.

The grey-list of countries promising to reform to meet the European Union’s criteria has grown by nine countries since Friday. Cape Verde and Morocco were the last two countries to agree commitments; Tunisia’s reform proposal arrived too late for it to be moved off the blacklist.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: